How to Reset Your WordPress Site to the Default Settings?

How to Reset Your WordPress Site to the Default Settings?

In some cases, it may happen that you need or want to reset your WordPress site to the default settings. Say, for testing purpose, you install some new plugins or themes on your website, and then you want to delete them and remove all the site changes brought by them so as to prevent some compliance problems.

You can do the reset by re-installing WordPress, however, it’s a little bit troublesome and time-consuming. Instead, you can simply use plugins for that purpose. In the following, we will show you how to reset WordPress site using a plugin.

Use WordPress Database Reset

The first plugin you can take use of is WordPress Database Reset, which is available in the WordPress Plugin Directory. With it, you can reset your database to the original state without having to go through installation.

To do so, first you need to install and activate the plugin. Once done, go to the Dashboard, then scroll down to “Tools” and click “Database Reset” in the list.

Database Reset

Here you can see the following screenshot. Then, choose what you want to reset. You can either select some specific database tables like posts and comments from the dropdown menu, or choose the entire database by clicking the “Select All” link.

Reset Database Table

After you have selected what you want to reset, you should select the checkbox if you want to reactivate the current theme and plugins after resetting, or just ignore it if not. Next, you need to enter a randomly generated security code, here “8850e” in the text box, which is to confirm the reset.

After finishing, click the “Reset Tables” button. You will be then redirected back to your WordPress Dashboard and all of your WordPress settings have been reset to the default state.

Note that, once your WordPress database is reset, all users will be deleted except for the first user. However, other files like images will not be modified.

Use WordPress Reset

You can also use another plugin – WordPress Reset to reset the WordPress database back to the default settings. Instead of modifying your files, it only removes all the content and customizations on your website.

To make use of this plugin, you need to install and activate it. Then, go to the Dashboard and click “Reset” located in the “Tools” list.


You will see the screenshot below. What you need to do now is to type “reset” in the confirm field, and then click the “Reset” button.

WordPress Reset

Once done with resetting, all the data about your plugins and themes will be wiped out.

On the Bottom

One thing you should be aware of is that both plugins mentioned above are designed for testing or development installs. Therefore, if you are running an online website, you’d better be careful and make sure you have backed up the site in case there are still some things valuable before you use plugins to do the reset.